Are You Afraid of the Dark Season 2 Episode 2: The Tale of Midnight Madness

midnight
“Your not a geek Pete, You’re a nerd”- Katie

Tonight’s tale is brought to us from Frank. I have to say this is one of the scariest episodes of season 2 and it made me want to watch the actual movie Nosferatu, which is a good movie and I recommend it.

We see that Betty Ann and The Gary are the first ones to arrive at the campsite, followed by Kristen and an impatient Kiki. Betty Ann and The Gary seem to be having a conversation, but it is not audible. I wonder if they came together, and this begs the question, how did they not end up together? They seems to really like each other, I just hope that The Gary wasn’t going to use Betty Ann as his rebound if his relationship with Sam did not work out as that is a dick move. Kiki wants go get the meeting started right away as she and David have movie passes to Fright Night at the Majestic (which sounds more like a bowling alley than a movie theater). Kristen is also finally pulling her weight as she is bringing in a log to add to the fire. Frank walks in and says “I’ve been to Fright Night and I am not going back.” Betty Ann asks him “Why not?”, to which Kiki says “Cause Frank is afraid of the dark.” They all laugh and take the piss out of him, Frank sits down and says “he is not going back because you sit in the movie theater for so long, that you start to forget that the real world exist, the only thing that seems real is the horror movie up on the screen.” Kiki and David both look at each other, as if they are having second thoughts. This was all a build up to his introduction to his story, Frank submits his story to the Midnight Society as The Tale of Midnight Madness.

This story has Dr. Vink again, and he is still not a nut-bag, but most likely suffering from some kind of mental illness. On a side note, the calculus I am taking is a natural applied calculus, which means that I am probably just as qualified to be a natural scientist as Dr. Vink is, so maybe I should make movies?

The tale begins at the rialto, an old time theater that is struggling to stay open. We are introduced to our mains Pete and Katie. Pete loves Katie, but won’t admit it. Katie mentions applying to the multiplex to get a job because money. He asks Katie out and she turns him down. Pete not wanting to lose his job or his eye candy, goes to see if the theater can get landmark status and hands out fliers.

Midnightmadnessvink
He’s a film maker now!

The next day, Dr. Vink shows up at the rialto, claiming to be able to save the theater. He loves the smell of stale popcorn and broken dreams. Dr. Vink also likes velvet chairs. Then Mr. Kristoph comes in and I think he is drunk. Dr. Vink has come to have the theater to offer them his movie, which is a black and white silent film based on Nosferatu.

Vink says “Show my film in your theater and people will flock to seer it. Your fortunes will turn and you’ll make far more than $6 a night.” Mr. Kristoph isn’t buying it, but Vink continues “As for payment, I don’t want money. All I ask is that once success is assured, you give me one night a week to show my other films.” Mr. Kristoph replies “If this movie can do what you say, I’ll give you three nights plus a cut of the concessions.” Vink says “I don’t want your popcorn money.” They shake on the deal and Mr. Kristoph tells Pete and Katie to throw the movie out.

Pete continued on his mission to save the rialto. Then they get the news that the rialto is going to close in two weeks, but the current movie they are showing cuts out, so Pete throws on Dr. Vink’s movie. Katie tells the patrons that if they do not like it, they will get refunds. It works and they love it. Everyone walks out of the movie very happy.

Pete and Katie hug and Pete gets so excited he says “lets hug again”.

Midnightmadnesspeteandkatie.png
Pete and Katie

We are now taken back to the Midnight Society, where The Gary is munching on some popcorn. Frank says that the movie was so popular, that they started a midnight madness showing of the film. Also good on them for starting up with the snack rotation again, the way The Gary is munching down on the popcorn, just reaffirms to me how hungry they get at these meetings. Frank also mentions that the owners decided not to sell, just as Dr. Vink predicted.

We are now taken back to the rialto, where they are showing the film to a packed house. Dr. Vink returns and Kristoph offers to write Dr. Vink a check, but he doesn’t want money, he only wants to show his other films. Dr. Vink laughs like a maniac and tells them that this story is only just beginning.

Pete started to study the film to see why it was so popular, and then one night Nosferatu stepped out of the movie and into the real life. Pete thinks his is dreaming (but he is not dreaming). Pete confesses his feelings to Katie and she to him, they are about to make out when Kristoph screams and they see two bite marks of a vampire.

Midnightmadnessescaping
Nosferatu

They think Dr. Vink is at the front door, but it is not, it is Nosferatu. Pete and Katie run into the theater, where he comes up with a plan to go into the movie and kill Nosferatu. Nosferatu goes after Katie until he sees Pete up on the screen, and makes his way back into the movie. I have the say the effect of Pete going into the movie is actually awesome. Pete drags the coffin and Nosferatu suddenly appears. Katie says she will stop the film, but Pete stops her because he will be trapped forever. Pete than opens the curtain and Nosferatu dies from the sunlight. Pete steps out of the movie and Katie and Pete embrace. After Kristoph comes back from being bitten, they are interrupted by Dr. Vink who, has just bought this theater so he can show his films every night. He says he has many many more that are better than this one and then laughs manically.

Frank says “The End” and then asks “so who’s going to Fright Night?” Kiki says “It’s getting late” and David agrees. David says “I’m kind of tired.” On her way out Kiki says to Frank “Here you can have my tickets.” The Gary says to Frank “I uh thought you weren’t going to Fright Night.” To which Frank says “You kidding? It’s just a movie, and I got two free passes.” Then The Gary invites himself to tag along.

Moira’s Thoughts:

  1. I really like the concept of this story, how the vampire came out of the film and into real life.
  2. Dr. Vink has had many professions, I bet he isn’t a board certified doctor or maybe he has many complaints against him and that is why he went from natural scientist to film maker to chef to barber.
  3. I really do wonder about the whole The Gary and Betty Ann thing, I feel they would have made a better couple or at least in the first two seasons. I wish we got to see a background story with the two of them.
  4. This is also shows that Kiki and David are friends and hangout outside of meetings, even though Kiki kind of makes fun of David. I wonder how they won tickets, was it a radio contest or did Kiki win them at school? I wish they would have shown that as well.
  5. I wish we got to see the stuff that happens before a meeting, for example an episode that starts at school or the day before a meeting where we see them interact with one another in a different setting would be cool.

Thank you for joining me in the summary of my future ex-boyfriend Frank’s story The Tale of the Midnight Madness. Up next is from our resident dark horse and Midnight Society queen, Betty Ann with the Tale of the Thirteenth floor, which also happens to be my lucky number.

Until next time….Submitted for the approval of the Midnight Society, I call this story: The Tale of Moira’s Afraid of the Dark? (But not really) Blog 3 of season 2.

If you want to tweet it at anyone in particular like *cough*Ross Hull or Raine Pare-Coull or Jodie Resther, *cough* to make them aware of me wanting to interview them, that would be cool. I feel that if enough people tweet at them or Facebook them, they will think it is a good idea. As a thank you, I will upload a video of me doing the nea nea and if you all help me get all three, I will upload a video of me singing He Mele No Lilo in full Hawaiian (since I took 2 years of the language). Mahalo for your continued support in this endeavor. Please help my dream come true!

Photo credit: Google images Midnight madness title card Pete and Katie Dr. Vink Nosferatu

Leave a Reply

